You may complete the course at your own pace, but state regulations require that you spend a minimum of 3 hours and 20 minutes (200 minutes) logged into the course.
There are 8 chapters in the course.
Following are detailed descriptions of the two courses available in Michigan:1) Michigan Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC). Select this course if you received a ticket in Michigan and received an eligibility letter from Michigan Department of State indicating that you are eligible to take the Michigan Basic Driver Improvement Course (BDIC) in order to keep points off of your driving record and keep your insurance rates from increasing.2) Insurance Discount. Select this option if your insurance company offers a discount to for completing a defensive driving course. You should contact your insurance company to verify that this discount is available prior to registering for the course.
You may take this course anytime you receive an eligibility letter from the Michigan Department of State pertaining to a ticket you received, but is supposed to be only once in a lifetime.
If you hold a Michigan Driver's license/received a ticket in Michigan and believe you are eligible for the program, you may still take the BDIC as long as you are within the 60-day eligibility period and none of the following are true:
  • You have taken this course in the past to avoid points on your driving record
  • You have a suspended, restricted, or revoked driver's license
  • You do not have a Michigan driver's license
  • You have more than three points on your driving record
  • You held a CDL (Commercial Driver's License) or were operating a Commercial Vehicle at the time you received the citation
  • The violation for which you were ticketed is not eligible for the program (i.e., must be for three or fewer points, not for careless or negligent driving, etc.)
However, if you are eligible to take the course, a notice was mailed to the address listed on your driving record. If you moved, remember that MI law requires that your address is updated with the MI DOS.
In order for us to report your completion to the Michigan Department of State, we will need both your completion due date listed on the eligibility letter you received from the Michigan Department of State. If you lost the eligibility letter and don't remember the completion due date that was listed on the letter, you may submit a request to the Secretary of State asking for this information.Click on this link Contact the Secretary of State and include the following information:
  • Your first, middle, and last name
  • Your Driver's License Number
  • Request for your BDIC completion due date
To avoid point assessment on your driving record, you must complete the course within 60 days from the date of the notice of eligibility.
Yes, you must still pay the amount indicated on your ticket. Taking the BDIC will result in your ticket information not being available to insurance companies and prevents points from going on your driving record, but does not dismiss any ticket fines, etc.
No, you must contact the authorities (court, DMV, etc.) listed on your ticket to find out if a similar program is available in the state in which you were ticketed.
If you received a ticket in Michigan, but your driver's license is from a state other than Michigan, taking the Michigan Basic Driver Improvement course will not guarantee that your home state will not assess points or post the moving violation on your driving record. You should check with your home state authorities to determine what rules apply.
No, there is not an age requirement to take the Michigan Basic Driver Improvement course.
Yes, there are three (3) quiz questions at the end of each chapter, but they are for review purposes only and no passing grade is required.
Yes, the final quiz consists of 25 questions, and you only need 70% to pass (18 correct answers). Don't worry though; you will be given unlimited attempts to pass the final quiz, so failing the course is NOT possible.
Start Now